The Fédération Internationale de I’Automobile (FIA) is the highest recognised authority and the world governing body for the sport of motor racing or auto racing. The FIA was established in 1904 with the purpose of representing the interests of motoring organisations and promoting safety around the world. To the rest of the public, the federation is better known for licensing and sanctioning famous motor racing events. Some of these include Formula One, Formula E, World Rally Championship, World Touring Car Cup, World Rallycross Championship, Karting World Championship, and the World Endurance Championship.  

Every nation in the world has some form of motor racing event, providing the FIA with over 240 member organisations in over 140 countries worldwide. A major step forward for the sport came when the International Olympic Committee officially recognised the federation in 2013. Together with the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM), the FIA also certifies land speed record attempts.  

The original name for the FIA was first established as the Association Internationale des Automobile Clubs Reconnus (AIACR) on 20 June 1904 in Paris. It was an association of national motor clubs with a design to represent the interests of motor car users, including the rise of the international motor sport scene. By 1922 the Commission Sportive Internationale (CSI) was appointed to set the regulations for international Grand Prix racing. After the Second World War, AIACR was renamed the Fédération Internationale de I’Automobile. In 1946 the FIA introduced the standardisation of rules and by 1950 the first Formula One World Championship was launched.  

Eight years later the Constructors Championship was introduced. The title is awarded to the most successful Formula One constructor over a season. In 1973 the FIA introduced the first World Rally Championship and in 1987 the first World Touring Car Championship. The National Hot Rod Association (NHRA), the drag racing governing body, was officially recognised by the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) in 1993. The primary role for the WMSC is to amend current regulations and to draft new regulations for all motor sports internationally. Sports car world championships were only introduced in 2010.  

Fédération Internationale de I’Automobile

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now