Segway Polo is a team sport built around the existing sports of polo, bicycle polo and peteca. The difference is instead of a horse or bicycle, players use a Segway PT. The Segway was developed by Dean Kamen and became available to the marketplace in 2001. The ‘PT’ stands for personal transporter. The sport was developed to increase knowledge, awareness, and acceptance of the Segway. Teams consist of five players each and the objective is to hit the ball with the mallet into the opposing team’s goal. The field area is usually 200 feet by 128 feet, with the goal area 8 feet. There are four sections of 8 minutes (chukkers) within a regulation match. A player can strike the ball with any part of the body, mallet and Segway. The direction of the ball may only be performed using the mallet. Unless accidental, a goal cannot be scored by any part of the body or Segway, apart from the mallet.  

The International Segway Polo Association (ISPA) is the world governing body set up to promote and regulate the sport. ISPA was founded in 2007 by players. Segway polo is gaining popularity internationally with the Segway Polo World Championship taking place every year (apart from 2014 and 2016) since 2006. New Zealand became the first world champions, and the trophy has since been won by nations like USA, Germany, Barbados and Sweden. The USA and Germany have each won it on four occasions. The World Championship is called the Woz Challenge Cup and is named after Steve Wozniak, the co-founder of Apple Inc. As it continues to develop and gain popularity around the world, Segway polo can truly be described as a new 21st century sport for those of all abilities.

International Segway Polo Association

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now